Compete Sports Diversity will honor the Arizona Diamondbacks, Arizona Coyotes, Arizona Cardinals, NFL and former NFL player Ryan O’Callaghan among others at the 2018 Compete Sports Diversity Awards, also known as the 9th Annual Petey Awards, in Phoenix, Arizona area on November 10th.  The event will be co-hosted by Eric Carlyle, Compete CEO; Jake Mason, USA Dodgeball president; Angela Smith, ASANA Softball commissioner.

“We are excited to be honoring these outstanding organizations and individuals who have made great inroads in sports diversity,” said Compete CEO, Eric Carlyle.

The Arizona Diamondbacks are being honored for their “D-backs Pride Pack,” the Arizona Coyotes are recognized for their Rainbow Pride apparel and the NFL is being honored for its work in diversity, including women coaches.

Ryan O’Callaghan, a former NFL player, came out last year has just launched a foundation that is inspiring many both inside and outside the LGBTQ+ sports community.  Levar Stoney, the mayor of Richmond, Virginia will be in attendance to accept an award. The Sin City Classic, the largest LGBTQ+ annual sports tournament will present Las Vegas Convention & Visitors Authority an award. Other award winners include Sam Lehman, Patrick Gamble and Conard Franz.  Additional award winners will be announced.

Compete Sports Diversity will also host an important Conference sponsored by Experience Scottsdale from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. on the day of the awards. The Diamondbacks, Coyotes and O’Callaghan will be panelists at the Conference and former Olympian and Pan American Silver Medalist, Gale Fitzgerald will host a women’s panel.

The 9th Annual Petey Awards is being held on Saturday, November 10 at the DoubleTree Tempe/Phoenix. A VIP welcome reception sponsored by Tempe Tourism begins at 6:00 p.m. with dinner seating at 7:00 p.m. .