Compete Network Feature Stories

Become our 2018 Mark Bingham Athlete of the Year

Featured in our September/ October Issue of Compete Magazine!

In 2008 New York’s Jeff Kagan become Compete’s first Athlete of the Year. Since then, we’ve honored ten other amazing athletes, with two Athlete of the Year awards being presented in 2016. In 2013 Mark Bingham’s mother gave us her blessing to officially rename the award the Mark Bingham Athlete of the Year Award. Mark was an amazing athlete and hero. You can read more about him in this issue of Compete.

On November 10 we will be honoring our newest Mark Bingham Athlete of the Year at the Compete Sports Diversity Awards, also known as the 9th Annual Petey Awards in Tempe, Arizona. Our Selection Committee, consisting of WNBA player Layshia Clarendon, NAGAAA Commissioner Chris Balton, High School Coach and Trailblazer Stephen Alexander, Paralympian Allison Jones and Compete’s own Eric Carlyle and Connie Wardman will select from the finalists.

All are encouraged to apply or to nominate a worthy athlete at

Check out some of our previous years’ winners!

Most Popular

To Top