On January 13, the Flamingo Las Vegas was the place to be. Compete hosted its 12th Annual Petey Awards honoring athletes and individuals for their work furthering sports diversity.

The evening was hosted by UK soccer official Ryan Atkin and USA Racquetball director Connor Shane, SDLT. Molly Lenore, SDL was scheduled to cohost the event but was unable to attend. The event team was led by Gus Penaranda, International Gay & Lesbian Football Association president.

Jackie Dupree (pictured above) and DJ Axis provided the entertainment.

2022 Honorees

Change Champion Award
Demp Bradford
Bonny Bernat

Community Non-Profit Award

Outstanding Non-Profit Award

Community Hero Award
Soléil McCants

IGLFA Lifetime Achievement Award
Kenyatta Scott (pictured above)

Molly Lenore Inspiring Athlete Award
Caidin Thomas Smith

Freddie Alvarez and Sin City Classic team pictured above.

Ken Scearce Tribute Award
Freddie Alvarez

National Sports Tournament Partnership Award
Tempe Tourism Office
Arizona Cardinals

Readers’ Choice Award
Nina Cole (main photo)

Emerging Sport Award
US Quidditch

MVP Award
Joshua Magallanes

Mark Bingham Athlete of the Year
Female-Rhonda Rasjsich
Male-Micah Porter

Return To Play Award (three individual awards)
GSWS 2021
Greater Columbus Sports Commission

National Tournament Bid Award
Las Vegas Gay Softball Association

Outstanding Sports Tournament
Neon Classic

Corporate Diversity Partner Award
Caesars Entertainment

Legacy Award
Dionne Warwick